And the recipe

by thebaking

I used my basic cookie ingredients to make those cookies.

I’ll write more about the basic cookie ingredients in another post.  I like to say that baking doesn’t have to be complicated – and you don’t always need to follow a recipe.

Anyway:

The basic ingredients – what you need for these cookies to actually turn out – are:

-oil, margarine, or another fat – I usually use margarine.

-sugar – I usually use plain, white, fine grind sugar.

-flour – I usually use all-purpose, unbleached wheat flour

-ingredients that function as an egg – eggs serve the purpose in the chemistry of baking as binding agents and can easily be replaced. I usually use two tablespoons of cornstarch, one teaspoon of baking powder, and two tablespoons of water or another liquid for each egg.

-liquid

-salt

-baking soda

-baking powder.

-flavouring – something like vanilla extract, coffee, or another flavouring agent.

For these cookies, specifically, I pre-heated the oven to 375 degrees and used, approximately:

-3/4 cup canola oil

-1 1/2 cups sugar

-1 packet vanilla sugar – easily replaced with a teaspoon or two of liquid vanilla extract

-2 tablespoons corn starch

-1/2 teaspoon salt – or more or less salt to taste. I like cookies a little bit salty, so I tend to use slightly more salt

-1/2 cup liquid total – I used about half a cup of cold, brewed coffee and half a cup of Grand Marnier. Add more

-1 teaspoon baking powder

-approximately 1 3/4  to 2 cups flour

-1/2 cup chocolate chips of your choice – I used semi-sweet, small-size chocolate chips

-1/2 cup chopped hazelnuts – you can buy hazelnuts pre-chopped or whole. The grocery store I went to when I bought the hazelnuts happened to have only whole hazelnuts: I chopped the nuts with a chef’s knife on a cutting board.

Add the flour and baking powder after all other listed ingredients – except for the chocolate chips and the hazelnuts.  The chocolate chips and hazelnuts go in last.

Add the flour in gradual and mix as you go, between each addition of flour. When the dough is of the consistency you’d like, you’re ready to go. If the dough is too wet, add a bit more flour. If the dough is too try, add a bit more liquid of your choice.

When the dough is the consistency you’d like, add the chocolate chips and hazelnuts. Stir in the chocolate chips and hazelnuts so that they are evenly distributed in the dough.

Shape the cookies into balls and bake on a non-stick or lightly greased pan – or – press the cookies with a spoon into a non-stick or lightly greased oven-safe tray.

Bake for approximately 15 to 20 minutes – but check on the cookies or cookie square regularly. They’re probably done and ready to come out of the oven when they are slightly golden-brown around the edge and the top looks slightly cracked and firm. Be careful not to over-bake.

If you’ve chosen to make individual cookies, remove from the tray after a few minutes and cool on a wire rack.

If you’ve chosen to make cookie squares, you may find it useful to pre-cut or score the squares while they are still hot and relatively fresh out of the oven. Cookies are more difficult to cut cleanly with a knife once they’ve cooled.

To pre-cut the squares before they cooled,  I held the tray steady with an oven mitt-equipped hand while I cut carefully with a butter knife in another hand.

