Pumpkin pie and pecans

by thebaking

This is a pumpkin pie with pecans baked on top.

Image
A few years ago, I baked a plain pumpkin pie. One of the people I served said pumpkin pie to suggested that I make another pumpkin pie with pecans on top and call it “pumpcan pie.”

Just over a week ago, I finally made pumpcan pie. I took it to a friend’s Sunday potluck. Everyone who tried it said they liked it: this pleased me.

To start, you’ll need:

1 pastry pie crust – you can make your own crust from scratch, use a mix, or buy a prepared crust. You don’t need to parbake the crust, but you should thaw the crust if you are using a frozen, pre-baked crust. Put the crust into the pie pan of your choice. I usually use an oven-safe glass pie pan, but I also use aluminum pans sometimes.

Pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.

For the filling:

-just over 3/4 of one of the big – they’re usually about 540 mL in Canada and 16-18 oz in the U.S. – cans of plain, pumpkin-only, pumpkin purée.

-ground sugar – I would probably use just under a cup of sugar, but you may want to use more.

-1 teaspoon ground cinnamon – I usually use a bit more, so spice to your taste

-1/2 teaspoon ground ginger – or, try what I did and cut a piece of fresh ginger that is about 1 inch by 1 inch, peel it, chop it finely, and add it in.

-1/2 teaspoon of ground nutmeg – I usually use a bit more, so spice to your taste

-pinch of ground clove

-1/2 teaspoon salt – I used a slight amount more, probably closer to 3/4 of a teaspoon

-4 tablespoons cornstarch or arrowroot

-1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

-1 tablespoon of cocoa powder – this is optional, but I opted to add it  to the pie and to this recipe

Mix all of the ingredients together. Add soy milk, water, or a liquid of your choice – I think coffee would taste pretty good, but I used soy milk – until you have a smooth, but still relatively thick, paste.

Pour the paste into the pie crust and spread out evenly with a butter knife or spatula. Be careful not to overfill the crust: leave about 3/4 of an inch of crust around the edges of the pie.

Sprinkle approximately 1/2 cup of whole or chopped pecans on top of the pie. I used whole pecans that I bought in bulk and chopped at home.

Bake at 350 degrees for 45 minutes to one hour.

Check on the pie from time to time so that it doesn’t burn.

The pie is done when the filling looks firm – it often begins to crack around the edges – or when a knife carefully inserted into the centre of the pie comes out clean.

Carefully remove the pie from the oven and put on a wire rack to cool.

The pie should be edible as soon as it’s cool enough for you to eat, but, for best results, pumpkin pie is best left to set in the fridge for a few hours. You can quickly re-heat it later on if you’d like.

