Cinnamon-swirl French toast

by thebaking

As I was making that cinnamon loaf the other day, I got to thinking about what else I could make with the bread, once it was baked.

Fresh-baked bread doesn’t stay fresh for long.

You could eat it all. Or keep it fresh in the freezer. Or you could make French toast.

Image

French toast actually works best with bread that is a little bit stale.

To make the French toast, I started by pre-heating the cooking surface. I used my Cuisinart Griddler set at 400 degrees. But a frying pan – on medium to medium-high heat – and a bit of oil would work just as well.

Then, I prepared a mixing bowl – any bowl slightly larger than a regular cereal bowl will do – with:

-about 1 cup of almond milk and 2 tablespoons of cornstarch.

Yes. Two ingredients. It’s that easy.

I used a bread knife to cut two slices of the cinnamon bread.

Then, I took each slice of bread individually and dipped it in the almond milk and cornstarch mixture. I moved each slice around and flipped them over so that the bread was fully covered in and soaked with the liquid.

And onto the cooking surface – or into the frying pan – for the bread. I left the slices to cook for about 5 minutes until they were crisp and golden brown on the outsides. If you’re using a frying pan, carefully flip each slice over after a few minutes of cooking time so that both sides cook and brown evenly.

This is what my two slices of French toast looked like when they were ready to eat:

Image

Then, onto a plate:

I topped my French toast with raspberries, blueberries, and a bit of maple syrup.

Most excellent.

You can make French toast with pretty much any bread. Bread seems to work better for French toast when it is slightly stale – it’s easier to cut and handle and gets less soggy when dipping in liquid – but fresh bread will work as well.

If you’re not working with spiced and sweetened bread like my cinnamon loaf, a better dipping mix recipe might be:

-1 to 2 cups of almond milk, soy milk, chocolate almond or soy milk, or another milk-ish beverage of your choice

-3-4 tablespoons of cornstarch

-2 teaspoons of sugar

-ground cinnamon and/or ground cloves and/or ground nutmeg to taste

-1 teaspoon of cocoa powder, optional.

Whisk all of the ingredients together in a large bowl and use for dipping the bread. Adjust quantities if you will be dipping a lot of slices.

