Christmas tree cupcakes

by thebaking

Obligatory one-month-to-Christmas post?

Sunday was November 25. And that means it’s one month to Christmas.

Whatever you’re up to around December-ish time, cupcakes are just fun.

And decorating cupcakes is fun too.

I made these cupcake cones on Sunday evening:

Image

The look I was going for was Christmas trees: chocolate and brown like a tree trunk on the bottom and green on top.

Yes. This post is about Christmas tree cupcake cones.

The chocolate cake batter recipe I used appears in this post. One small change: I used only about 1/2 cup of the cocoa – to make a light-looking chocolate. Like this:

Image

And I used a frosting recipe from the same post – but with green pigment gel food colouring.

Image

When the batter was ready to bake, I used a regular dessert spoon to spoon it into flat-bottom ice cream cones.

I found miniature ice cream cones at a grocery store. Any size of flat-bottom – the cones have to be able to stand up on a flat surface unsupported – will do.

Fill each cone about three quarters-ish of the way full. Like this:

Image

Then, pre-heat the oven to 350 degrees.

While the oven is pre-heating, arrange the cones on a cookie sheet or baking dish – I used an oven-safe glass baking pan. Carefully transfer the tray or baking dish to the oven: I do it by moving slow and using both hands to hold the dish steady.

Yes. You can really bake the cupcakes right in the ice cream cones. It just works.

Depending on the size of ice cones you use, the cupcake cones will take between about 20 and 40 minutes to fully bake. Check on the cake frequently. Use the oven window and light if you can – instead of opening the door and letting heat out. The cupcake cones are done when a toothpick stuck into the centre comes out without any cake batter stuck to it.

When the cupcake cones are done, carefully remove the tray or dish from the oven and transfer to a wire rack to cool.

While the cones are baking and cooling, you can start on the frosting.

And when the cones are fully cooled, it’s time to frost. I loaded up my icing gun to get the job done, but a pastry bag – with frosting tip of your choice – or even a zipper bag with a small hole cut in one corner will do the job. You can also spoon icing on with a spoon or spread it on with a knife.

This is my icing gun, filled with green icing and ready to go:

Image

Yes. Mechanical pastry bag is the proper name for this item. But I like to call it an icing gun.

I used the icing gun to push a small amount of icing onto the top of each cupcake cone. I shaped it like this:

Image

Then, I decorated – trimmed? – the trees.

I stuck a cinnamon heart on top of each tree.

I wanted star-shaped candy, but the store I bought the decorations at didn’t have anything star-shaped.

Then, I rolled the icing on the top of some of the cones in decorative coarse sugar sprinkles. And rolled others in edible silver ball candy decoration. By “rolled,” I mean that I took each cone individually and turned them over to carefully – with very little pressure – bring the icing in contact with the sprinkles or decoration.

You can pour the sprinkles or decoration out onto a plate or, if the bag or container is big enough, dip the cones directly into the container or bag that the sprinkles or decoration are in.

You can use pretty much any edible decoration you’d like.

This is what the final product looked like:

Image

The candle – it’s a tealight-size candle – should give some scale to the size of the cones I used to make the cupcakes.

Happy holiday baking.

