More cupcake cones

by thebaking

I made these cupcake cones a while ago.

Image

I baked them for a birthday of a fan of few sports teams whose colours include either blue and/or white.

The actual procedure and instructions for making these cupcake cones was nearly identical to what I wrote about in the recent post on Christmas tree cupcake cones.

But I used bigger, regular-size, ice cream cones to bake the cake batter in. And, before spooning the batter into the cones, I poured about half of it into another bowl and mixed in blue pigment gel dye. That’s right: the actual cake inside these cupcake cones was marbled blue and white. I got the marbled effect by alternately putting spoonfuls of either colour batter – I used a separate spoon for each bowl – into the cones until they were filled to about 1cm, or half an inch-ish, below the inside, straight, edge of the cones.

The batter recipe I used was the basic vanilla cupcakes recipe from the book Vegan cupcakes take over the world. You can find the recipe online by searching here. Or, I’ve typed out a slightly modified – to be, in my opinion, a bit shorter and simpler to follow – version of the cookbook authors’ instructions:

-1 cup unsweetened almond milk – you could also use water or soy milk, or another milk-ish beverage of your choice.

-1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar – you don’t need to use this, but, if you do, whisk it together with the 1 cup of liquid in a separate container and let it sit for a few minutes before adding it to the batter mixture.

-2 tablespoons cornstarch – arrowroot starch or another starch would probably work too, so you could experiment with this.

-3/5 teaspoon baking powder

-1/2 teaspoon baking soda

-1/2 teaspoon salt

-1/3 cup canola oil

-3/4 cup sugar

-1 1/2 teaspoons liquid vanilla extract – you can use another liquid extract, such as almond, of your choice, or a combination of liquid extracts. I chose to use vanilla extract, and added about 2 teaspoons, which is slightly more than the recipe called for.

Mix the liquid ingredients together until they look like they’re well-blended. Then, add the non-liquid ingredients. Mix or beat the batter until it’s smooth and any large lumps are broken up.

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and bake for about 20 minutes or until you judge that the cupcake cones are fully baked.  The cupcakes are done baking when a clean toothpick stuck into the centre of one of the cakes comes out without any batter stuck to it.

For the icing, I actually made two, separate, half batches of the frosting recipe here. I used liquid vanilla extract and soy milk as the liquid ingredients. I dyed one of the batches of icing blue with blue pigment gel dye. Then, I put alternate spoonfuls of the two colours of icing into my icing gun. I used a large, round/circle, icing tip to get the icing effect in the picture.

