Cookie pops

by thebaking

How about a cookie: on a stick?

Image

I got the idea while talking about cake pops with a coworker last week. Short story: my takeaway from the conversation was “I’m going to make cookie pops.”

Later that day, I picked up a package of wooden coffee stir sticks at a dollar store.

Image

The actual baking happened yesterday morning. I decided to improvise a salted peanut butter cookie dough. As I’m blogging now, I kept a pen and notepad nearby and wrote down what I put into the dough:

-1/2 cup peanut butter – I prefer to use the just-peanuts kind of peanut butter, but another kind would work. I used smooth, but chunky would work too.

-1/3 cup canola oil

-1 teaspoon salt

-2 tablespoons water

-1 tablespoon liquid vanilla extract

-2 tablespoons cornstarch

-1 1/2 cups sugar

-1 teaspoon baking soda

-2 cups flour

-1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

Mix the ingredients in the bowl in the order that they’re listed. I used a regular spoon to mix. When it comes time to add the flour, add about half of it, then add the baking powder, then mix, then add the rest of the flour. Stir until all of the dough looks like it’s well-blended. If the dough is too dry or crumbly, add a tiny bit of water and stir again.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and get to shaping the cookies.

Image

Break off pieces of the dough and roll them into balls that are slightly smaller than a ping pong ball. Stick one of the sticks into the centre of each ball of dough. Push the stick almost all the way through the dough so that you can just feel it on the other side.

Arrange the pieces on a cookie sheet, being careful to space leave enough space between various pieces of dough and the sticks.

Bake at 375 degrees for about 10 to 12 minutes or until the edges of the cookies start to look slightly golden brown. When the cookies look done, remove the cookie sheet from the oven. Let the cookies cool on the cookie sheet for a few minutes before carefully transferring them – with a lifter or spatula – to a wire rack.

Image

Melt some chocolate chips or chocolate wafers in a double boiler or microwave. I used dark chocolate wafers and melted them in a shallow bowl in the microwave. Melting took about 5 minutes on medium heat. I stopped the microwave to check on the wafers a few times. And I used a bamboo kebab skewer to stir the chocolate.

Image

I lined a separate cookie sheet with tin foil.

Then I dipped parts of each cookie pop into the chocolate and transferred them to the foil-lined cookie sheet to cool. As the chocolate-dipped cookies were cooling, I decorated them. You can put the decorations right onto the chocolate while it’s still melted.

As it’s December – and holiday candy and sprinkles were easy to find – I went with a bit of a holiday theme overall.

Image

Image

Image

Image

