Olive bread

by thebaking

I saw some olive bread when I stopped to get groceries this morning. And I started thinking about how much I like olive bread and that I hadn’t had any in a while.

I considered buying a loaf of the grocery store olive bread.

But, then, instead of olive bread, I bought a can of green olives, a can of black olives, and some dried rosemary.

I decided to make my own olive bread. And this is the final product:

Image

It was delicious. It smelled fabulous while it was baking. And I’m thinking I should experiment with bread more often.

I used a breadmaker to bake this bread. But you could also use a bowl to mix and knead the dough in and bake it in the oven. If you use the bowl method, you may want to try the basic bread-making instructions that I linked to in this post.

I started with the ingredients for basic 2-pound loaf of white bread, and baked the bread using the breadmaker’s basic bread cycle.

I used:

-1 1/2 cups water

-2 tablespoons sugar

-2 tablespoons canola oil

-1 teaspoon salt

-4 cups all-purpose flour

-2 1/4 teaspoons yeast – I used regular, not quick-rise or bread machine, bread yeast.

I added the ingredients to the breadmaker and started the cycle.

My breadmaker makes a beep after several minutes of kneading to indicate it’s time to add any extra ingredients that you want to add. I added:

-1 cup of mixed black and green olives

-1 clove of garlic, finely chopped

-2 teaspoons dried rosemary

For the olives, I used equal parts of green olives and black olives.

Image

The black olives I bought were already chopped, but the green olives weren’t, so I chopped them with a knife.

Image

This is an action shot of the dough kneading in the breadmaker a few moments after I added in the olives, garlic, and rosemary:

Image

When the machine was done kneading, I sprinkled a bit of Celtic sea salt on top of the dough.

And now I want to do more work with bread.

