Margarita cupcakes

by thebaking

margarita1

Last night, I  made a batch of the Mucho margarita cupcakes from the book Vegan cupcakes take over the world by Isa Chandra Moskowitz and Terry Hope Romero.

The final product is pictured above.

I’d made this particular recipe before and had thoroughly enjoyed it. Especially because there is lime, salt, and tequila involved in both the batter and the icing.

The cupcakes were baked in a mini muffin pan inside mini paper liners.

The icing is, in my opinion, actually the best part of this recipe. I made it a bit more to my taste by adding a bit more more salt – I used regular table salt and some Celtic sea salt – and tequila than what the recipe called for.

Once they were baked, cooled, iced, the cupcakes were quickly flipped upside down to be coated with coarse grind decorative sugar. For the sugar, I hit up the bulk food store and mixed several colours of decorative sugar together in a bag. The cupcakes were dipped directly into the bag.

And this is the tray of cupcakes, in the oven, almost ready to come out:

margarita3

More on the book – Vegan cupcakes take over the world – I used for the recipe can be found here. You can find the book online, but you can also find it at many major bookstores.  The book has 75 different cupcake recipes: I highly recommend it.

