COO KIES

by thebaking

COO KIES: it’s not a typo.

I’ve been baking: baking cookies.

Most of these cookies are variations on the basic cookie formula I like to use.

First up:

Image

I made these cookies the other night. They have a salted cookie dough base with ground hazelnuts, coffee, and cocoa.

To make these cookies, I added half a cup of ground hazelnuts, two tablespoons of very fine grind coffee, and a tablespoon of cocoa powder to the oil-sugar-salt-vanilla mixture at the beginning. Then, I let the mixture sit for a bit to mix the flavours. From there, it was the usual cookie procedure. And I added about a third of a cup of large semi-sweet chocolate chips at the end. I rolled the dough into balls and baked at 375 degrees for about 10-minutes.

These cookies were – and still are: I have lots left – delicious and are probably one of my favourite recent cookie projects. The taste is somewhat similar to these cookies, but with hazelnut.

Here’s a close-up:

Image

I made these peanut butter cookies right after making the hazelnut-coffee-cocoa cookies:

Image

These are salted peanut butter cookies made with chunky peanut butter.

Again, I used my basic cookie formula. But I replaced some of the oil with chunky peanut butter – the peanuts-only kind. I also added a bit more starch: about a heaping tablespoon’s worth.

I rolled the dough into balls, sprinkled on decorative sugar and baked at 375 for just under 10 minutes.

I decided to deliberately under-bake these cookies. They turned out just slightly crispy on the outside and soft – but fully baked – on the inside. Under-baking was a good decision.

These cookies were a holiday baking project from December:

Image

I made them with the basic cookie formula. But I added a tablespoon of cocoa powder and a teaspoon of very fine grind coffee to the oil-sugar-salt-vanilla mix. When I added the chocolate chips – about a third of a cup of them – I also added pieces of pretzel and pieces of broken candy cane.

I sent these cookies off with somebody who was going away for the holidays. I’m told that they were enjoyed. And rather rapidly consumed.

And now for something completely different:

Image

I decided to experiment with puff pastry.

I had originally wanted to make palmiers – or palm leaves, whatever you want to call them – but I decided to go with small, rolled, cookie-size pieces.

I bought a package of frozen puff pastry from the grocery store and let it thaw in the fridge overnight.

When I was ready to bake, I took half of the puff pastry dough – the package of dough I bough was pre-cut into pieces – and rolled it out on a clean surface with a rolling pin. I rolled the dough until it was about a quarter of an inch – or just over half a centimetre – thick, and the size of a piece of paper.

Image

Then, I sprinkled the dough with regular sugar and rolled it together – starting from one of the long sides.

I used a serrated bread knife to cut the roll of dough into pieces about one inch – or two and a half centimetres – long. Then,I rolled each cut piece in a little bit of sugar – which I had poured onto a small plate.

Baking instructions for puff pastry should be printed on the package that the dough came in.

I laid out  the pieces of dough on a foil-lined cookie sheet and transferred the sheet to the oven to bake.

Image

What’s especially important with baking puff pastry is to keep checking on and watching the dough so that it doesn’t burn. Puff pastry can go from looking completely unbaked to being very much burnt very quickly.

After removing the baked puff pastry from the oven, let sit for a few minutes before removing from the baking sheet and transferring to a wire rack to cool.

And yes, this post contained both a reference to a certain blue TV monster AND a reference to a python named Monty.

