An afternoon of cookies

by thebaking

One weekend last month, I spent an afternoon making cookies.

I started with these:

cookies 2

These cookies had a chocolate-coffee base with chocolate chips and chopped hazelnuts. I used the basic cookie ingredients and procedure that I wrote about here. And I added very fine-ground dark coffee, chopped hazelnuts, and chocolate chips. I used about half a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips, half a cup of chopped hazelnuts, two tablespoons of very fine-grind coffee, and a teaspoon of cocoa powder.

Then, there were these:

cookies 4

These cookies were a first-time cookie experiment that I thought up as I was making the chocolate-coffee cookies at the top of this post.

I called these cookies margarita cookies. The cookies had ground lime rind, fresh lime juice, salt, and a little bit of tequila mixed into the dough.

I used the basic cookie dough base of oil, sugar, flour, starch, salt, baking powder, baking soda, and vanilla extract. And I added lime juice and tequila – about  2 tablespoons of lime juice and about 1/4 of a cup of tequila – as the liquid ingredients. I used the fine-grind side of a cheese grater to grate about two tablespoons of lime rind into the dough.

One of the people that tried the margarita cookies said they were “phenomenal.” I was also rather pleased with the results.

I also made peanut butter cookies:

cookies 6

One of the people who tried the peanut butter cookies said that these particular cookies were their favourite cookies of the bunch. I enjoyed the peanut butter cookies as well. They had a light, soft, slightly crumbly, shortbread-like texture.

To make the peanut butter cookies, I used the basic cookie formula, but replaced most of the oil with room-temperature chunky peanut butter. I used the peanuts-only kind of peanut butter, but any peanut butter should work. You could also use almond butter, cashew butter, and so on. The decorations on top of the cookies are pieces of a certain peanut butter cup cereal.

