Pretzel on the inside – cookie on the outside

by thebaking

It started with a trip to a well-known bulk food store chain:

I was browsing the aisles, and, amongst the wasabi peas, chips, and other crunchy treats, I spotted a barrel of sourdough pretzel nibs. And I had an idea.

The sourdough pretzel nibs were about the size of a large grape – and they looked like this:

preztel on the inside 1

And my idea?

I decided to bake the pretzels inside chunky peanut butter and chocolate chip cookie dough.

I used a peanut butter variation on my basic cookie dough formula. There are instructions here. I decided to use chunky peanut butter because that was the kind of peanut butter I happened to have around.  You could also use smooth peanut butter, or almond butter, or cashew butter,  or whatever-butter. I added about one third of a cup of chocolate chips to the dough after all of the other ingredients had been mixed together.

To wrap the pretzel nibs in cookie dough, I took  pieces of dough about the size of a ping pong ball, gently flattened the dough, and, then, wrapped each piece of dough around one pretzel nib. You may have to move the dough around a bit and model it to fully cover each pretzel piece.

Here are the dough-wrapped pretzel cookies, right after going into the oven:

preztel on the inside 2

I baked the cookies at 375 degrees – farenheit – for about 10 to 15 minutes. I took an occasional peek into the oven door window to watch for when the cookies looked done.

When the cookies were done – and ready to come out of the oven – they looked like this:

preztel on the inside 3

Deliciousness all around.

Easy to make.

And highly-recommennded.

