Chocolate chip cookies

by thebaking

I like chocolate chip cookies.

Other people seem to like chocolate chip cookies.

So, I like to make chocolate chip cookies.

Chocolate seems to work with a lot of different flavours – which makes it a fun ingredient to experiment with.

All of these cookies are made with a base dough made from my basic cookie dough formula.

These cookies are chocolate chip, pecan, and peanut:

chocolate chip cookies with peanuts and pecans

I used cold, brewed coffee and vanilla extract as the liquid ingredients in the dough and added about 1/3 of a cup each of semi-sweet chocolate chips, chopped pecans, and roasted, shelled peanuts.

These cookies are very similar to the ones above, but baked into square form and with double amounts of chopped pecans and chocolate chips instead of peanuts:

pecan cookie squares

With square cookies, it’s especially important not to over-bake the cookies. And, it’s also important to remember that it’s easier to cut the cookies into squares when they’re fresh out of the oven. I’d suggest using a butter knife – and that oven mitts or some kind of pot holder be used. I took these particular cookie squares along with me on an out-of-town trip: they disappeared pretty fast.

Next up, chocolate chip and coffee cookies:

Coffee cookies 1

Again, I used cold, brewed coffee and vanilla extract as the liquid ingredients. And I added about 1/3 of a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Just before forming the dough into pieces for baking, I added about two tablespoons of instant coffee crystals to the dough and mixed them in. Adding the instant coffee at the last minute kept the crystals from dissolving into the dough – which left little chunks of coffee-flavour goodness all over the cookies. Delicious.

And pretzel time:

cookies on pretzels

These are chocolate-chocolate chip cookies baked into salted pretzel twists. I added about two tablespoons of cocoa powder to the dough base and added a bit of extra liquid to make the dough extra gooey and soft. I used about 1/3 of a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. To bake the cookies into the pretzels, I broke off pieces of dough and, then, pressed them into individual pretzels before baking. Because of the extra liquid in the dough, these cookies turned out crispy on the outside and soft and chocolate-y on the inside.

These cookies, were pretty much the same idea, but I added very fine-grind coffee and used a bit less liquid:

cookies on pretzels 2

I also used waffle shape pretzels instead of pretzel twists for some of the cookies.

These chocolate chip cookies baked in pretzels had a vanilla and coffee dough base:

cookies on pretzels 1

And last up:

salted chocolate chip cookies

These are chocolate chip and coffee-base cookies with chunky Celtic sea salt on top. I used chilled, brewed coffee and vanilla extract as the liquid ingredients. And I used about 1/3 of a cup of semi-sweet chocolate chips. After breaking the dough into pieces, I rolled each piece on a small plate full of Celtic sea salt. Then, into the oven. The sweetness of the chocolate – along with the sugar in the dough – worked well in contrast to the salt.

