Frosted cinnamon buns

by thebaking

Over the weekend, I made cinnamon buns.

And here’s a close-up:

cinnamon buns 2

I used pretty much the same recipe that I used to make the apple cinnamon buns that I baked and wrote about in a previous post.

The only modifications to my recipe? No apples. And I used about half a cup more sugar for the filling. I also added about two teaspoons of ground cloves along with the cinnamon. And, of course, there was the icing. Or frosting. Or whatever you want to call it. I explained my icing/frosting making process in a previous post. Click on that hyperlink – blue and underlined – text for more. I used plain, white icing flavoured with liquid vanilla extract.

When I was making the batter, I decided to – as an experiment – use water that had been used to boil sweet potatoes. This was my own modified version of the procedure used to make potato bread. I thought it’d be interesting to try. I chilled the sweet potato cooking water in the fridge before using it. I’m not sure if the sweet potato water really added any flavour to the bread. But the bread was delicious, so the experiment was definitely not a failure.

Cinnamon bun win.

And one more photo, just because:

cinnamon buns

