Chocolate chips and peanut butter

by thebaking

These delicious chocolate chip cookies with a peanut butter base happened after the recent-ish chocolate chip cookies galore post.

Here’s a close-up:

IMG_0608

I used chunky peanut butter – the peanuts-only kind – to make the dough for these cookies. But you could use whatever kind of peanut butter you’d like.  Cashew butter, almond butter, or something of the like would work too – and would probably be delicious.

To make these cookies, I substituted about half  of the oil in my basic cookie formula with about 1/3 of a cup of peanut butter and a small amount of water.

I also added a small amount – about one teaspoon – of cocoa powder to the dough.

When all of the other dough ingredients had been thoroughly mixed, I added about 1/3 of a cup of chocolate chips.

To get the round-ish/thick final shape that the cookies baked to,  I formed pieces of dough into spheres about the size of ping pong balls. Then, once the pieces of dough had been transferred to a cookie sheet, I flattened the tops. You could use the back of a spoon or your hands.

Then, the dough went into the oven…heat, chemical reaction, time, make sure you don’t over-bake, so on…and, then: COOKIES.

