Gingerbread – and pretzels

by thebaking

I decided to make another batch of the no-added-salt-or-sodium-ingredients gingerbread cookies again.

But, this time, I baked about half of the batch into unsalted pretzel twists.

And this is what the gingerbread-in-pretzel cookies looked like:

gingerbread on pretzel

I used nearly the exact same recipe that I developed and used the first time I made no-added-salt gingerbread cookies. Click here for the recipe.

What was different?

I added a little bit more water, about a quarter of a cup more. The water made for a slightly stickier and smoother-looking dough that baked into cookies with a crispy outsides and soft insides.

I also used slightly more ginger – about three tablespoons total – than I used the first time I made these cookies. After the, first, test, batch that I made of these cookies after making up the recipe, I made another batch with more ginger than I’d initially used. I shared that second batch of gingerbread cookies with a group of cookie enthusiasts I know. The cookies seemed to be well-received. And I like spice too, so, well, that’s that.

I got the unsalted pretzels at a bulk food store. The unsalted pretzels don’t have a salt topping, but, they do indeed have salt in the dough used to make them. I checked the ingredients and the nutritional information posted by the store: the pretzels have about 140mg of sodium per 100 g serving of pretzels. As I only used one pretzel per cookie…well, the cookies remain low-salt, but not entirely sodium free.

You can make the cookies without the added pretzels.

Either way, these are some delicious gingerbread cookies.

