A cinnamon bun – for one

by thebaking

I felt like making cinnamon buns, but I wanted to do something different.

So I made individual cinnamon buns that I baked in a muffin tray.

Here’s a shot of a cinnamon bun about to go into the oven:

cinnamon bun in a muffin cup

I used pretty much the same recipe that I used here – minus the apple slices.

Once the dough was ready and rolled into a log shape, I used a serrated knife to cut individual pieces of dough about an inch and a half wide that I put into a muffin paper-lined muffin tray.

I used muffin papers. You don’t have to use muffin papers.

I baked the cinnamon buns in the oven at about 400 degrees. As I wasn’t sure how much time  would be needed to bake individual cinnamon buns, I peeked into the oven – it’s best to use the oven door window if your oven has one – to check on the buns frequently. I took the buns out of the oven after about 20 minutes, when they’d risen up nicely and had light brown, crispy-looking tops.

Cool on a wire rack – and enjoy.

