Oatmeal cookies

by thebaking

It had been a while since I’d had a nice oatmeal cookie.

So I made a batch of oatmeal cookies with chocolate chips.

And they were absolutely fabulous:

oatmeal chocolate chip cookies

I used, as per usual, my basic cookie ingredients process.

To modify the dough to make oatmeal cookies, I added extra liquid – about one quarter of a cup total – and about thee quarters of a cup of oatmeal.

I used plain, quick-cook oats. Large-flake oats would probably work too, albeit with a slightly different final texture.

I also added a pinch or two each of cinnamon, nutmeg, and cloves. The idea with the spice was for a light trace of spice in the cookies, not full-on spice flavour.

I used about half a cup of chocolate chips.

I like relatively crisp cookies, so I made these cookies thin and baked them a little longer than I would have if I wanted them to be soft.

Yep.

